Milwaukee Press Club Logo

Annual Meeting & Knighting

Loading Map....

5:30 pm - 8:00 pm

Newsroom Pub
137 E. Wells St. Milwaukee WI, 53202

Join the Milwaukee Press Club for its Annual Meeting and the Investiture of

logo-award-knights-golden-quill logo-award-knights-bohemia

Distinguished Milwaukee Journalist
Kathy Mykleby
into the order of
The Knights of the Golden Quill
Civil Rights Pioneer, Lawmaker & Judge
Vel Phillips
into the circle of
The Knights of Bohemia

Thursday, September 17, 5:30 – 8pm

This event is FREE and open to the public.
Advanced registration is suggested.

5:30 p.m. Social
6:15 p.m. MPC Annual Meeting
6:30 p.m. Knighting Ceremony
7:30 p.m. Adjourn for Further Reveling

MPC Endowment Elections and Referendum:  All members of the Milwaukee Press Club are members of the MPC Endowment, the club’s 501(c)3 foundation.  Members can access ballots at the links below.  Return your ballot to the Club by Thursday, September 17th for our Annual Meeting or bring it to the meeting at The Newsroom Pub where voting will conclude at 6:00 p.m.

Click here to download 2015/2016 Election Ballot for the Milwaukee Press Club

Click here to download 2015/2016 Election Ballot for MPC Endowment, Ltd

New Members: If you’re not an existing member of the Milwaukee Press Club, why not join at this event? All new members will receive membership for the remainder of 2015 and through 2016.Joining the Milwaukee Press Club earns you discounted prices to events and access to one of the largest networking communities in Wisconsin. New members will also receive a coupon to attend an upcoming Newsmaker Luncheon for FREE!

Agenda: During the Annual Meeting, a brief annual state-of-the-club address and ratification of board member elections will take place prior to the investiture of Kathy Mykleby as a Knight of the Golden Quill and Vel Phillips as a Knight of Bohemia.

The Order of the Knights of the Golden Quill, the highest journalism honor bestowed by the Milwaukee Press Club, recognizes outstanding professional accomplishment. This year, we honor WISN-TV news anchor Kathy Mykleby for her authenticity in a profession that can breed superficiality; for being a pioneering woman broadcaster, a hard-nosed reporter and a roll-up-your-sleeves working news anchor dedicated to bringing viewers the truth beyond the “talking points;” and for being the heart, soul and conscience of WISN-TV news in a three and half decade career marked by award-winning work, including an Emmy, an Edward R. Murrow Award and just about every other journalistic accolade, and for being one of the most watched, most respected and humorous news people in Milwaukee. Mykleby will join a Circle of Knights that includes Meg Kissinger, Raquel Rutledge, Irwin Maier, Ed Hinshaw, John McCullough, Melodie Wilson and President John F. Kennedy.

The Circle of the Knights of Bohemia is comprised of community leaders who are not journalists. This honor recognizes exemplary community leadership. This year, we honor Vel Phillips for her willingness to fight for the civil rights of herself and others; for breaking down barriers and becoming the first African American and woman to be elected to the Milwaukee Common Council; for continuing on and becoming the first female judge in Milwaukee County and the first African American judge in Wisconsin, for becoming the first person of color to win a statewide election, and for continuing the fight for equality and justice through the Vel Phillips Foundation; Phillips will join a circle of knights that includes Stephen H. Marcus, Herb Kohl, H. Carl Mueller, Dave Baldwin, Ben Barkin, Capt. James Lovell, Fritz and Debra Usinger and Fred Pabst.

There is no cost to attend. Advanced registration is suggested and can be done by booking below.


Log in if you already have an account with us, click here

Bookings are closed for this event.

Corporate Members


     UWM_logo1        WeEnergies