Milwaukee Press Club Logo

Finalists for 89th Annual MPC Excellence in Wisconsin Journalism Contest Announced

The Milwaukee Press Club today announced finalists in the 89th Annual MPC Awards for Excellence in Wisconsin Journalism competition.

Finalists are presented by contest category, and listed alphabetically by organization. Click here for finalists.

Award winners — gold, silver and bronze – will be announced May 10 at the club’s Gridiron Awards event at The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee.

This year’s contest garnered more than 800 entries from throughout Wisconsin in professional and collegiate categories. The competition was judged by professional journalists from press clubs throughout the U.S., including statewide clubs in Alaska, Florida, Idaho and Michigan and metro area clubs in Cleveland, Houston, Los Angeles, New Orleans, Orange County, Pittsburgh, San Diego, San Francisco and Syracuse.

Also to be honored at the Gridiron event:

Chuck Todd, moderator of NBC’s Meet the Press, will receive the Sacred Cat Award, which recognizes journalism achievement at the national level.

Todd has been moderator of NBC’s Meet the Press since 2008 and is the host of MTP Daily. Todd also is NBC News’ political director and on-air political analyst for Nightly News with Lester Holt and TODAY.  In addition, Todd is responsible for all aspects of the network’s political coverage and is the editor of First Read, NBC’s guide to political news. In January 2010, Todd helped launch The Daily Rundown on MSNBC.

This year’s Headliner Awards will be presented to former Wisconsin Governor Martin J. Schreiber and Mary Lou Young, former CEO of United Way of Greater Milwaukee & Waukesha County.

Schreiber is an award-winning advocate for Alzheimer’s caregivers and persons with dementia. Reaching audiences nationwide, he uses humor and compassion as he shares lessons from his ongoing, decade-plus journey as a caregiver. His book, My Two Elaines: Learning, Coping, and Surviving as an Alzheimer’s Caregiver, has won praise from caregivers across the country. In addition, Schreiber was named the No. 2 “Senior Social Media Influencer You Should Follow” by Net proceeds from book sales are used to promote Alzheimer’s caregiver support.

Young, who retired in January, oversaw the 2015 merger of the former United Way of Greater Milwaukee and the United Way in Waukesha County.  Under her leadership the organization saw substantial growth, from $45.5 million in 2009 to more than $60 million in 2017.  Additionally, Young facilitated a $1 million gift from Johnson Controls to launch the Johnson Controls Volunteer Engagement Center in 2018. She continues to serve as a consultant on special projects for United Way and also heads MLY Consulting, LLC.

The Headliner Awards are presented annually to those who are making a positive difference in Wisconsin.

 For additional information or to register for the Gridiron Awards Dinner, please visit our website at or contact Joette Richards at or 262-894-2224.

Corporate Members


     UWM_logo1        WeEnergies