Milwaukee Press Club Logo

Members Ratify New Press Club Board of Governors

MILWAUKEE, WI – September 20, 2016 – LaToya Dennis, reporter and producer for WUWM Milwaukee Public Radio, will continue to lead the Milwaukee Press Club as president for the next year, after the membership ratified elections to the club’s board of governors at its September 15th Annual Meeting.

Dennis joined the award–winning Milwaukee Public Radio news team in 2006. During the nine years that she’s lived and worked in Milwaukee, she has covered major stories ranging from the Sikh temple shooting to Wisconsin’s high black male incarceration rate. Dennis was recently honored with a Salute to Excellence Award from the National Association of Black Journalists for her coverage of a mentorship program in one of Milwaukee’s poorest communities. Dennis also has freelanced for many national radio shows including Morning Edition, All Things Considered and Marketplace. Dennis began her public radio career as a part-time reporter at WKAR in East Lansing, Michigan while earning a master’s degree in journalism.

James B. Nelson has been named president-elect of the Milwaukee Press Club. An Appleton native, Nelson is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He is a Deputy Business Editor and PolitiFact Wisconsin reporter at the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.  His work experience includes reporting stints at the Milwaukee Sentinel, Waukesha Freeman, Baraboo News-Republic and Stoughton Courier Hub. Nelson also teaches part time at Marquette University. He is president of the Milwaukee Press Club Endowment Board.

Also elected to the board were:

  • Carl Mueller, Mueller Communications Inc., Treasurer
  • Lori Richards, Mueller Communications Inc., Secretary


  • Charles Benson, News/Political Reporter, WTMJ-TV
  • Fraser Engerman, Director of Global Media Relations, Johnson Controls
  • Marilyn Krause, Director, The Lowe Group
  • Maryann Lazarski, Supervising Producer, Milwaukee Public Television
  • Cathy Schulze, Sr. Communications Specialist/Media Relations, We Energies

They join continuing directors:

  • Katrina Cravy, Contact 6 Reporter, Fox 6 News WITI
  • Steve Jagler, Business Editor, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
  • Gene Mueller, Host of Wisconsin’s Morning News, 620 WTMJ Radio
  • Kathy Mykleby, News Anchor/Reporter, WISN-TV

Mark Kass, Editor-in-Chief, Milwaukee Business Journal, will remain on the board as past-president.

Click here to see photos from our Annual Meeting and Knighting.

Corporate Members


     UWM_logo1        WeEnergies