Milwaukee Press Club Logo

Members Ratify New Press Club Board of Governors

Gene Mueller, host of Wisconsin’s Morning News for 620 WTMJ Radio, will continue to lead the Milwaukee Press Club as president for the next year, after the membership ratified elections to the club’s board of governors at its September 17th Annual Meeting.

Mueller is an entertaining fixture in the Milwaukee radio market, having spent the last 25 years as morning show co-host on WKTI-FM, WTMJ’s former sister station. A native of Sheboygan, he started his radio career at Sheboygan North High School, attended the University of Wisconsin- Stevens Point and began his professional radio career at WSPT AM/FM. He came to Milwaukee in 1981 as news director and morning show host of WQFM, and joined WKTI a year later.

James B. Nelson has been named the club’s president-elect. An Appleton native, Nelson is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Madison and is a business editor at the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.  His work experience includes reporting stints at the Milwaukee Sentinel, Waukesha Freeman, Baraboo News-Republic and Stoughton Courier Hub. Nelson also teaches journalism classes part time at Marquette University. He also serves as a director of the Milwaukee Press Club Endowment Board. 

Also elected to the board were:

  • H. Carl Mueller, Mueller Communications LLC, Treasurer
  • Lori Richards, Mueller Communications LLC, Secretary


  • Katrina Cravy, Professional Speaker & Publicity Coach, Katrina Cravy, Inc.
  • Katharine Foley, Advisor, Public Relations, Kane Communications Group
  • Steve Jagler, Director of Corporate Communications, Graef
  • Kathy Mykleby, Former News Anchor/Reporter, WISN-TV

They join continuing directors:

  • Charles Benson, News/Political Reporter, WTMJ-TV
  • Fraser Engerman, Director of Global Media Relations, Johnson Controls
  • Corri Hess, Reporter, Wisconsin Public Radio
  • Mark Kass, Editor-in-Chief, Milwaukee Business Journal
  • Marilyn Krause, Principal, Krause Communications
  • Maryann Lazarski, Supervising Producer, Milwaukee PBS

LaToya Dennis, News Reporter/Producer, WUWM Milwaukee Public Radio, will remain on the board as past-president.

Click here to see photos from our Annual Meeting and Knighting.

Corporate Members


     UWM_logo1        WeEnergies