Milwaukee Press Club Logo

Members Ratify New Press Club Board of Governors

MILWAUKEE, WI – September 24, 2014 – Mark Kass, editor-in chief of the Milwaukee Business Journal, will lead the Milwaukee Press Club as president for the next year, after the membership ratified elections to the club’s board of governors at its September 23rd Annual Meeting.

Kass, who has been part of the Milwaukee media community for more than 25 years, just completed his first year as president of the Press Club. He has been editor-in-chief at the Milwaukee Business Journal, an award-winning Milwaukee-area business website and weekly newspaper, since October 2003. Previously, he had served as a reporter and managing editor at the paper. He has also worked at the Waukesha Freeman and Milwaukee Sentinel. Over the years, he has written for many national and local publications, including the New York Times, Chicago Sun-Times, Crain’s Chicago Business and Milwaukee Magazine.

James B. Nelson has been named the president-elect of the Milwaukee Press Club. An Appleton native, Nelson is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He is a Deputy Business Editor and PolitiFact Wisconsin reporter at the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.  His work experience includes reporting stints at the Milwaukee Sentinel, Waukesha Freeman, Baraboo News-Republic and Stoughton Courier Hub. Nelson also teaches part time at Marquette University. He is president of the Milwaukee Press Club Endowment Board.

Also elected to the board were:


  • H. Carl Mueller, Mueller Communications Inc., Treasurer
  • Lori Richards, Mueller Communications Inc., Secretary


  • Charles Benson, News/Political Reporter, WTMJ-TV
  • Kurt Chandler, Editor, Milwaukee Magazine
  • LaToya Dennis, Reporter/Producer, WUWM Milwaukee Public RadioSteve Jagler, Executive Editor, BizTimes MediaMaryann Lazarski, Supervising Producer, Milwaukee Public TelevisionGene Mueller, Host of Wisconsin’s Morning News, 620 WTMJ Radio
  • Kathy Mykleby, News Anchor/Reporter, WISN-TV
  • Jody Lowe, Managing Director, The Lowe Group
  • Marilyn Krause, Assistant Managing Editor/Administration, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
  • Fraser Engerman, Director of Global Media Relations, Johnson Controls
  • Cathy Schulze, Sr. Communications Specialist/Media Relations, We Energies

Mary Van de Kamp Nohl, Independent Journalist, will remain on the board as past-president.

Click here to see photos from this event.

Corporate Members


     UWM_logo1        WeEnergies