Milwaukee Press Club Logo

Scholarships and Grants


Endowment funds provide scholarship money to students selected by three universities:

  • Don Walker Scholarship, in honor of the late Milwaukee Journal and Journal Sentinel reporter and editor, to Marquette University and UW-Milwaukee students. CLICK HERE for more information.
  • Ray Kenney Scholarship, in honor of the late Milwaukee Journal and Milwaukee Sentinel reporter and business editor, to Marquette University students.
  • Albert and Francie Silverman Scholarship, in honor of the late Mr. Silverman, a businessman and Milwaukee Press Club supporter, to UW-Milwaukee students.
  • Whitney Gould Scholarship, in honor of the late Milwaukee Journal and Milwaukee Journal Sentinel editorial writer and architecture critic who also was an influential journalist at The Capital Times, to UW-Madison students.
  • Eric Miller PantherVision Scholarship, in memory of the late photojournalist Eric J. Miller and his outstanding commitment to excellence in the use of visual technology for journalistic story telling. CLICK HERE for more information.

Students should contact the journalism advisor at each university for application details.

Scholarship Recipients

Marquette University

  • 2016-2017 Sean Blashe
  • 2015-2016 Paula Tews
  • 2014-2015 Lily Stanicek
  • 2013-2014 Kathryn Cutinello, Erin Caughey
  • 2012-2013 Melanie Pawlyszyn

University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

  • 2016-2017 Dwayne Lee
  • 2015-2016 William Bott
  • 2014-2015 Brett Kihlmire
  • 2013-2014 Srijan Sen
  • 2012-2013 Steve Garrison
  • 2011-2012 Callie Koller
  • 2010-2011 Taylor Thompson
  • 2009-2010 Matthew Sliker

University of Wisconsin-Madison

  • 2016-2017 Laura Schmitt
  • 2015-2016 Haloren Mellendorf
  • 2014-2015 Abigail Becker
  • 2013-2014 Trevor W. Block, Allegra Dimperio, Lydia E. Statz


Funds donated to the Endowment support journalism-related programs and activities.

  • Harold Gauer Professional Development Fund

Corporate Sponsors

         UWM_logo1       WeEnergies