Gridiron Awards Dinner
Each spring the club presents the Gridiron banquet, which incorporates the awards ceremony for the Excellence in Wisconsin Journalism contest, the Sacred Cat award and the Headliner award. The Sacred Cat award goes to a prominent national journalist. The Headliner award goes to a worthy civic, community or business leader from the area. See our list of past Sacred Cat winners and Headliners in the Contest & Honors section.
Gridiron Awards Dinner 2024

May 3, 2024

5:30 pm – 9:00 pm

The Pfister Hotel

View Event Details
Newsmaker Luncheon
The club holds Newsmaker Luncheons at the Newsroom Pub. Speakers and topics run the gamut. Held monthly at the Newsroom Pub, each event is a forum for a local, regional or national person or entity currently making headlines to speak and field questions from journalists and the public. Reservations are required and many events sell out. Admission (typically $20 for members, $25 for non-members and $15 for college students) includes lunch.
U.S. Rep. Gwen Moore Headlines Newsmaker Luncheon

May 29, 2024

11:45 am – 1:30 pm

Newsroom Pub

View Event Details
Media Hall of Fame
In October, the club presents the induction ceremony for the Milwaukee Media Hall of Fame. The club’s past presidents’ council nominates inductees, which the board ratifies. Names of all the inductees are displayed at the Newsroom Pub.
Media Hall of Fame 2024

October 25, 2024

5:30 pm – 9:00 pm

Saint Kate – The Arts Hotel

View Event Details
MPC Endowment

Contribute to Journalism Excellence

The endowment carries out its mission by providing scholarships to students, funding journalism-related education programs and supporting activities of the Milwaukee Press Club.


MPC Membership

Support journalistic excellence in Milwaukee and throughout Wisconsin and become part of the oldest continuously operating press club in the country, founded in 1885. The Press Club also supports the MPC Endowment Ltd., which awards annual journalism scholarships to students and provides grants to journalism programs.