Milwaukee Press Club Logo

Gridiron Awards Dinner

Map Unavailable

5:30 pm - 9:30 pm

The Pfister Hotel
424 E. Wisconsin Ave. Milwaukee WI, 53202


Milwaukee Press Club Announces 2019 Sacred Cat and Headliner Awards
Chuck Todd Named Sacred Cat Honoree
Mary Lou Young and Martin Schreiber to receive Headliner Awards

MILWAUKEE, WI—The Milwaukee Press Club today announced that Chuck Todd, moderator of Meet the Press on NBC and host of MTP Daily on MSNBC, is the club’s 2019 Sacred Cat Award honoree. The award, which has been given annually since 1973, recognizes excellence in journalism at the national level.

Todd will accept the award at the club’s annual Gridiron Dinner, set for Friday, May 10th, at The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee.

The club also will honor its 2019 Headliners, former Wisconsin Governor Martin J. Schreiber and Mary Lou Young, former CEO of United Way of Greater Milwaukee & Waukesha County. Winners of the press club’s 2018 Excellence in Wisconsin Journalism competition also will be recognized at the event.

Emcees for the Gridiron will be press club board members Kathy Mykleby, retired reporter and co-anchor for WISN Channel 12 News, and Fraser Engerman, director of global media relations for Johnson Controls.

“Meet The Press is an illustrious, valued broadcast journalism franchise, the longest-running program in television history,” said Milwaukee Press Club President Gene Mueller. “It is in great hands with host Chuck Todd. With journalism under scrutiny and the 2020 presidential election fast approaching, the Milwaukee Press Club couldn’t have found a more worthy–and timely–Sacred Cat recipient.”

Todd has been moderator of NBC’s Meet The Press since 2008 and is the host of MTP Daily. Todd also is NBC News’ political director and on-air political analyst for Nightly News with Lester Holt and TODAY.  In addition, Todd is responsible for all aspects of the network’s political coverage and is the editor of First Read, NBC’s guide to political news. In January 2010, Todd helped launch The Daily Rundown on MSNBC.

Before joining NBC News, Todd was the editor-in-chief of the National Journal’s The Hotline, a daily briefing on American politics. In his 15 years of working at The Hotline or one of its affiliates, including as editor-in-chief for six years, Todd became one of Washington’s foremost experts on political campaigns of all levels. In December 2005, Todd was featured as one of Washingtonian’s Best Of journalists.

After the 2008 election, Todd co-authored the book “How Barack Obama Won,” which used election results and exit polls to analyze voting patterns state by state and the possible outlook for future elections. Todd has authored numerous political and media essays in outlets such as The AtlanticThe New York Times, and The Washington Post. Todd also has won several Emmy Awards for his reporting while at NBC News.

Past Sacred Cat honorees include Megan Twohey and Jodi Kantor, David Fahrenthold, Marty Baron, Ann Compton, Jonathan Alter, Cokie Roberts, Walter Cronkite, Malcolm Forbes, Judy Woodruff, Michael Bloomberg and David Maraniss.

The Headliner Awards are presented annually to those who are making a positive difference in Wisconsin.

Schreiber is an award-winning crusader for Alzheimer’s caregivers and persons with dementia. Reaching audiences nationwide at live events and various media platforms, he uses humor and compassion as he shares lessons from his ongoing, decade-plus journey as a caregiver. His book, My Two Elaines: Learning, Coping, and Surviving as an Alzheimer’s Caregiver, has won praise from caregivers across the country. In addition, Schreiber was named the No. 2 “Senior Social Media Influencer You Should Follow” by Net proceeds from book sales are used to promote Alzheimer’s caregiver support.

Schreiber was a Democratic state senator from 1963 to 1971, when he took office as lieutenant governor under Governor Patrick Lucey. Upon Lucey’s resignation in July 1977, Schreiber served as governor until 1979, the end of his term. He lost his 1978 bid for another term and joined Sentry Insurance in Stevens Point.  He later formed a public affairs consulting firm and became a successful lobbyist.

Young, who retired in January, oversaw the 2015 merger of the former United Way of Greater Milwaukee and the United Way in Waukesha County, and transformed the organization into a driving force for social change.  Under her leadership the organization saw substantial growth, from $45.5 million in 2009 to more than $60 million in 2017.  Additionally, Young facilitated a $1 million gift from Johnson Controls to launch the Johnson Controls Volunteer Engagement Center in 2018. She continues to serve as a consultant on special projects for United Way and also heads MLY Consulting, LLC.

Prior to joining United Way, Young headed Global Community Relations for Rockwell Automation, where she managed Rockwell’s annual $7 million+ philanthropic budget, which invested in community development and technology education worldwide. Under her leadership, the Rockwell Automation Charitable Corporation focused its funding on K-12 science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) programs to develop talent.

Past Headliner honorees include Gary Grunau, Juli Kaufmann, Carmen Pitre, Howard Fuller, Ted Kellner, Hannah Rosenthal, Ricardo Diaz, Linda Mellowes, Michael Pink, Barry Alvarez, Jane Pettit, Bud Selig, James Lovell, Ben Marcus and Steve Marcus.

Tickets for the Gridiron Dinner are available by booking below. Registration deadline is Friday, May 3. The cost is $75 per individual, or $580 for a table of eight.  Corporate table sponsorships are available for $1,000 (includes a table of 8, name on table and company logo on printed program). For more information on sponsorships or congratulatory ads click here.

Founded in 1885, the Milwaukee Press Club is the oldest continuously operating press club in North America. Its members represent a diverse community of media-focused professionals from nearly every local media outlet, and also include a strong contingent of public relations and marketing professionals and others with an interest in journalism and news media.

To view past Sacred Cat Awards:

For past Headliner Awards:

Booking information for attendees:
Entree selections:
(Beef) Braised beef short ribs, Boursin cheese mousseline, baby root vegetables, Burgundy bordelaise
(Chicken) Orange-glazed semi-boneless chicken with braised root vegetables, whiskey-spiked zucchini, Irish colcannon potatoes
(Fish) Wild Atlantic salmon, potato cauliflower puree, twice-cooked corn butter sauce, jumbo-poached broccoli floret
(Vegetarian) Vegetable strudel: layers of grilled zucchini, eggplant, Portobello mushrooms, roasted peppers, and sautéed spinach in a phyllo dough wrapper, served over red pepper coulis
(Please contact us for any special dietary needs.)

Event Sponsors

Defender Sponsor

  • Delta Defense, LLC

Ally Sponsors

  • Kane Communications Group

  • Sentry Insurance

  • We Energies

Once A Year Advertisers

  • Alzheimer's Association

  • Marquette University

  • Milwaukee Brewers

  • Milwaukee Business Journal

  • Mueller Communications

  • UW-Milwaukee

  • United Way of Greater Milwaukee & Waukesha County


Corporate Table Sponsor

  • Johnson Controls

  • Marcus Hotels & Resorts

  • United Way of Greater Milwaukee & Waukesha County


In-Kind Sponsors:

  • The Pfister

  • VISIT Milwaukee


Log in if you already have an account with us, click here

Bookings are closed for this event.

Corporate Members


     UWM_logo1        WeEnergies