2023 Gridiron Awards event also to honor:

  • Anna Wolfe, award-winning investigative reporter for Mississippi Today
  • Derek Mosley, director of Marquette University Law School’s Lubar Center for Public Policy Research and Civic Education
  • George Stanley, former editor of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel and regional editor of USA TODAY Network Wisconsin

The Milwaukee Press Club today announced finalists in the 93rd Annual MPC Awards for Excellence in Wisconsin Journalism competition.

Finalists are presented by contest category and listed alphabetically by organization. Click here for finalists.

Actual award placement– gold, silver and bronze – will be announced May 12 at the club’s Gridiron Awards event at The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee.

This year’s contest drew more than 900 entries from throughout Wisconsin in professional and collegiate categories. The competition was judged by professional journalists from press clubs throughout the U.S., including statewide clubs in Alaska, Arizona, Florida, Idaho, Western Pennsylvania and Southeast Texas and metro-area clubs in Atlanta, Cleveland, Los Angeles, New Orleans, Orange County, San Diego, San Francisco and Syracuse.

Also to be honored at the Gridiron event:

Anna Wolfe, investigative reporter, will receive the Sacred Cat Award, which recognizes journalism achievement at the national level. 

Wolfe, a native of Tacoma, Washington, graduated from Mississippi State University, where she received a bachelor’s degree in communications and journalism. Wolfe joined the staff at Mississippi Today in 2018 as an investigative reporter. Wolfe has received national recognition for her work, including the 2021 Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting, the 2021 Collier Prize for State Government Accountability and the 2021 John Jay/Harry Frank Guggenheim Excellence in Criminal Justice Reporting Award.

This year’s Headliner Awards will be presented to Derek Mosley, director of the Lubar Center for Public Policy Research and Civic Education at Marquette University Law School and George Stanley, who recently retired as editor of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel and regional editor of USA TODAY Network Wisconsin. Headliner Awards are presented annually to those who have made significant, positive contributions to Wisconsin and its residents.

For information on ways to get involved with the Gridiron Awards event and support the Milwaukee Press Club’s journalistic mission click here for sponsorship and advertising opportunities. Ad and sponsorship deadline, Friday, March 24, 2023

For additional information or to register for the Gridiron Awards Dinner, please visit our website at www.milwaukeepressclub.org or contact Joette Richards at joette@milwaukeepressclub.org or 262-894-2224.